Beat The Heat

Days are growing shorter, Pumpkin Spice lattes have returned and leaves are starting to fall. Fall is here. Yet, the Nashville heat says otherwise. With temperatures steadying in the high 80s and 90s and humidity making my hair resemble that of a lion mane, it has become preferable to bask in the air conditioning rather than the sun.

I have made it my mission to find a place for Mazey and me to cool off in the unbearable heat. After conducting some research and asking around, I discovered a quiet, little spot nestled in Edwin Warner Park. Mazey, two of my roommates and I ventured out into the weather determined to cool off.

A creek that ran through the park drained into a swimming hole that was lined by deep brush and weeping willows. There were only a few other dogs and their owners there. Mazey was a little tentative at first, but after she saw the other dogs swimming, she joined right in. Tennis balls and dog toys were scattered for anyone’s use, and other dog owners were extremely friendly and kind.

I would definitely recommend Edwin Warner for dogs and owners that love to be outside and go on adventures. It was a place for not just dogs, but also owners, to enjoy each other’s company. What places do you and your pup go to during these blazing, hot days?

Leave a comment