Fido’s coffee run

With classes, homework, work, and practices for two upcoming performances, these past couple of weeks have been completely draining. I have neglected to make any time for myself, so this week I decided to change that. In terms of taking a break, there are not many things that are better than a coffee date with a couple of friends and a furry sidekick. I had texted my roommates, telling them that Mazey and I were going to Fido and if anyone wanted to come, they were more than welcome. Leanna and Erin both decided to come with. 

This was not my first time to Fido. However, it was the first time I had brought Mazey along. Fido is located in the Hillsboro Village, along with many quaint boutiques and the famous Pancake Pantry. Though dogs are not technically allowed inside the restaurant (pretty sure that is a health code violation everywhere) Fido accommodates for customers to bring their furry friends and sit outside. Seating was available all along the outside windows of the restaurant and even provided water bowls for the pups.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got there, I asked Erin to hold Mazey outside while I went inside to order. This aspect of the restaurant was not as inviting for customers with dogs because if I had not had a friend with me, I would have had to left Mazey outside alone while I went in to order. Luckily, there were not many people there so the it did not long to get through the line to order.

With the fall season and all, of course they had their list of seasonal drinks out. I cannot resist a good latte that tastes like fall or Christmas. So, I went all in. I ordered two Drury Lane lattes that featured nutmeg, clove, vanilla, ginger, and cinnamon. Let me just save you the time of deciding whether or not you should get it–because you should. It was great, and I regretted not getting the larger size.

 

Not only was the coffee great, but the service was too. The cashier was personable and kind. I never felt like I was being rushed out the door or being forced to buy more food or drink than I wanted. I could tell that the barista not only enjoyed his job, but he was intentional about the way he was making these drinks and cared the way they tasted. And boy, did he also do a good job.

I did not get any food this time around, seeing as it was in between lunch and dinner time. However, like I said earlier, I have been there multiple times before with my parents, and I have yet to have anything on the menu I do not like. The one downside to Fido (which I experienced in previous trips) is how long the line gets during busy hours. Thankfully it was not so the day I went with my friends, but I have waited in line for about 45 minutes before to just order my food.

Overall, Fido was and is one of my favorite places to eat, get coffee and sit outside with Mazey. The little downtown shopping area is warm and inviting. There is not usually a lot of traffic, which makes it fairly accessible to walk around and cross the street with ease.

If you have been to Fido or anywhere else that is similar, comment below your opinions and other suggestions on where to go!

Leave a comment