Locals only

Hey! Mazey and me here again, about to give you the low down on some more tacos. I wasn’t planning on reviewing another Mexican restaurant, but as I have mentioned in a previous post, I could never get sick of Mexican food. I asked my roommate Erin to come on another adventure this week, so I sent her 5 different restaurant menus to choose from and wherever she chose, I would follow. The options I sent her (all dog-friendly, of course) were: The Slider House, Kay Bob’s, Chago’s Cantina and Local Taco. Drum roll please………..Local Taco was the winner!!!!

I happily obliged to eat some more tacos, so off we went. As we learned upon looking up directions, there are more than one Local Taco locations. We went to the one in Sylvan Park off of West End. It was the closest one to our house which is why we chose that one. When we got there to park, I was very confused. The restaurant resides in sort of a strip mall, but is a separate building. There was barely any parking in front of the restaurant and I did not seem to find any sort of parking lot specifically for it either. I ended up parking in a parallel spot in the street, which was not a hassle. However, since the area wasn’t crowded I was able to easily find that spot. The night we went was not crowded, so I could potentially see a problem with parking since that area is heavily populated with four to five restaurants and stores when it is during a busy hour.

Again, the particular night we went was not busy at all, so when we walked in there wasn’t any type of wait. The way that Local Taco works is that customers walk up to the register to order and they are given a number so employees can bring out the food. As I was browsing the menu, it was extremely difficult to pick because all of the options looked great. I ended up getting two tacos: The Alabama White, Nashville Hot Chicken and a side of Mexican street corn (which is usually my favorite part of the meal because I mean, who doesn’t love corn?). Erin got the same Nashville Hot Chicken taco, the Spicy Baja Shrimp and the Crossroads Cantina.

As for the taste, oh my word, the tacos were so good. Both of my choices were incredible, but if I had to choose one of them I would choose the Alabama White because I liked the sauce a lot. However, the coleslaw that was on the Nashville Hot Chicken was out of this world as well, so you can’t go wrong with either. Like I said, the street corn is usually my favorite part of the meal, but that was not the case this time around. First of all, it did not even have the gooey cheese on it like it should and on top of that, I don’t even think there was any salt on it. There also was not either salt or pepper on any of the tables and I couldn’t find any elsewhere. I was pretty disappointed because the picture of the street corn that was on their website did not met the expectations of what they served.

At the Sylvan Park Location, there is an outside patio in the back that allows pups to hang out while you eat. The restaurant also have a game to play with your friends that looks similar to Bocce Ball. We didn’t get a chance to play it, but it looked like a good time. Have y’all been to the other Local Taco locations? If so, I would love to know how it was compared to this location!! Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a comment